Play, dammit!

So the other day, Spencer and I are out taking a walk and we pass in front of the gate of someone’s driveway. Spencer does an about-face and plasters himself against the gate, with his head sticking through, in full alert. I look for another dog, a cat, a person…anything that might have drawn his attention. Nothing.
Finally I conclude that the only thing he can possibly looking at is this pathetic little plaster statue of a horse that comes up to about my knee. It’s head is lying on the ground next to it, and the owners are clearly waiting for bulky trash day to throw it out.
I am not exaggerating when I say that Spencer stared at that thing for ten minutes. I kept gently pulling on the leash and telling him we were leaving, but to no avail. When nothing happened for ten minutes, he started barking at it. It was almost as if he was saying, “Don’t just stand there. Play, dammit!”
Our crazy dog!

Leave a Reply

