He stopped barking!

Wow! I can’t believe it’s been 11 days since I wrote a post. It’s been a little intense over that period. I can’t explain everything right now, but will later. RIght now, I want to write about today’s departure:

Tuesdays are always hard for departures because the cleaning lady is here in the morning, so I have to be locked up in a room with Spencer to keep him calm and away from her. Obviously, that kind of intense togetherness does not facilitate separation. Plus, I gave him a frozen stuffed Kong and a chocolate dental stick this morning so he associates goodies with the cleaning lady and visitors in general. That didn’t leave me a lot of ammunition for this afternoon.

So I went for simplicity. I gave him a simple, but yummy, treat and one of his chew toys as I left. As it turned out, I forgot stuff twice, so there were two false starts, which actually is not so bad since it reinforced the idea that I always come back.

Anyway, I walked up to post a letter, which only took about four minutes. So I sat down outside the gate and listened. He was barking intermittently. At the 7-minute mark, he stopped!  And he only barked again about 3 minutes later. But that was not insistent. Since I don’t want him to think barking makes me come back, I took advantage of the lull after that bark to go inside…and found him calmly lying in the entryway! He was happy to see me, but not at all panicked. This is a major good sign. Yay! Now we just need to start building up the length of the separations.

 

Leave a Reply

